Posted by: corozmum | February 23, 2012

I’m a Miss Muffet

I went into the laundry this morning and nearly had heart failure. There was a dirty great spider in the tub! Where is The Ref when you need him?? Not only at work but several hours drive away! I resisted the urge to run screaming. I did turn a couple of circles wringing my hands and came to the conclusion that I was going to have to be a big girl and deal with it. I’m not sure how, but I was brave enough to gingerly sneak up and get some photos to prove it was big. I know it can’t jump at me … but just in case … I exercise care and don’t get too close. Darn it! The photos just don’t do its size justice!

My trusty weapon of choice? Fly Spray! I dearly wanted to hold the nozzle down and empty the can. I managed to confine myself to 4 generous blasts all over the tub. Well, its way larger than a fly! I watched and waited. It didn’t die!?! Got a nauseous feeling, broke out in a sweat. What if it doesn’t die? Maybe if I walk away and give it time to die. What if it gets out of the tub and is lurking somewhere in the house, ready to jump out at me? Watching a dreaded spider wander around a tub is not good for the heart rate, so I walked away.

I went back 5 times before it was dead!Unfortunately, its too big to wash down the drain. We have an open home over the weekend, and I’m going to The Refs flat for the weekend (to attend a staff function). I can’t leave it. I’m trying to get brave enough to sweep it up with a brush and shovel. Ugh! Stomach flip flops at the thought. At least Miss Muffet could run away! Being a grown up sucks sometimes.


Leave a comment

Categories