Posted by: corozmum | June 16, 2013

Facing Unemployment

After a year of working in a Call Centre and spending 2 1/2 hours a day commuting I was really excited to get my dream job within 30 minutes of home. I was on a 3 month trial. The position was a Senior position and even though I have a degree, my practical experiance is Beginner – Intermediate depending on the task. There is no boss as such and I struggled with the lack of support, conflicting advise and information. If I asked for help I was disrupting others and they were ‘carrying’ me. If I tried to nut it out on my own, I was too slow and unproductive and should of asked for help. I felt like I couldn’t do anything right. Much as I adored the work, steadily over time relationships broke down and they let me go.

I got mega stressed to the point it affected my health. My self confidence has taken a hammering. When I described some of what was happening, my daughter and my GP said it sounded like High School! At 50, I don’t need that sort of rubbish!!

So here I am … unemployed and trying to pick myself and my self esteem off the floor. As I get older, it takes longer and longer to get a new job. It lurks in the back of your mind that this may be it. The dream of a job using my degree seems more tenuous.

I’m having counseling as I felt getting depressed was quite on the cards. My first order of business is to have a couple of weeks break to get over the stress before job hunting which is really stressful and hard on your ego. Next order is to do things that make me feel good about myself, and boost my self confidence.

We shifted here a year ago, and between full-time work, commuting, Accounting papers and stress we’ve hardly unpacked. Getting our house more organised and useable will be good. Exercise has gone off the radar, as has cooking and baking. Not to mention the handcrafts I love doing. I hope adding all those things back into my life will be positive for me and keep my head above water as I face this new chapter in my life.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

