Posted by: corozmum | December 29, 2012

Reindeer Cookies

We had an Xmas bake off at work. As I had no idea what to make I went to Incredible Edibles for inspiration. This photo caught my eye.

Reindeerz2-2231

The first problem was getting the pretzels. Couldn’t get chocolate covered mini ones anywhere. Had to settle for plain. The chocolate ones are necessary as the chocolate melts when you press them into the hot biscuits and it sets to hold them in place. I had to drop chocolate chips into the grooves to hold the pretzels in place.

The recipe was very unusual by New Zealand baking standards. It asks for 1 tablespoon of vanilla essence. I’ve never used that much so stuck to the more usual 1 teaspoon. It took a while to get used to the flavour, I kept expecting a ginger and spice flavour which I associate with Xmas rather than peanut butter. Next time I’d try more vanilla essence. I think the biscuits can carry it.

IMG_1591IMG_1590

They must have been pretty good as our Team came second with our bake off entry 🙂

Xmas bake off challenge 2012 008 (2)

Leave a Reply

Categories

