Posted by: corozmum | January 14, 2012

Army Tank Cake

The boys were jealous of Glassies Camera Cake and wanted to know why they didn’t get special cakes. Farm Boy has a birthday between Xmas and New Year so I decided to surprise him. I didn’t know what to make so I grabbed a couple of books from the library to look through and see what appealled to me. As Farm Boy is in the army a tank stuck out as being for him. I used 2 pictures for my references. One for the shape and the other for ideas in decorating it.

I had heaps of trouble getting the army green colour right. The first time I used too much black and I ended up with gray! The second time I was really cautious so it was more mint green. Farm Boy loves licorice and Toffee Pops so I used licorice for the tracks and mini Toffee pops on the wheels. I was pleased with how it came out and Farm Boy was thrilled that I’d done it especially for him.

Responses

  1. This is so cool! Recipe?

  2. That looks like a LOT of hard work. Good job! When you have the time, do drop by my space and tell me what you think about my crepes with winter squash ragout. I’d love to hear from you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

