Posted by: corozmum | October 28, 2011

Cutting For Stone

Three weeks ago, I got out from the library ‘Cutting for Stone’ by Abraham Verghese.

I have found it a challenging read. The New York Times Review puts it more eloquently than I can explain as to why its a challenging read. The Ref can’t understand why I don’t take it back and get out an easier read. My answer is that you can’t always read candy floss. It gets boring and sickening!

Today, halfway through the book I struck gold. A paragraph that stopped me in my tracks and rewarded me for my perseverance.

“The key to your happiness is to own your own slippers, own who your are, own how your look, own your family, own the talents you have, and own the ones you don’t. If you keep saying your slippers aren’t yours, then you’ll die searching, you’ll die bitter, always feeling you were promised more. Not only our actions, but also our omissions, become our destiny.”  page 286.

It reminded me to appreciate where I am in life and what is good in my life. That inaction can impact as much as action in how your life turns out.

I liked it so much I copied it into one of my notebooks. I have two notebooks.

1:- A ‘Women’s Notebook’ full of pithy pre-printed comments about males from a female perspective :-)and life as a female or mother, in which I add any new pithy comments that I come across and want to remember or be reminded of.

2:- A ‘Snippets & Cuttings’ notebook. This has cuttings, poems and paragraphs that strike a cord with me. The slippers paragraph above went in there.

Putting something new in one of the notebooks reminds me to look through the pages, become reacquainted with old and familiar friends, smile, laugh and remember how lucky I am.

Leave a Reply

Categories

