Posted by: corozmum | June 19, 2011

Who Stole The Mince?

Earlier this week I got mince out and left it on the bench to defrost. When I got home I asked The Ref where the mince was as it wasn’t on the bench or in the fridge where I thought The Ref may have put it. He swore there was no mince out. I was just as certain I had got it out.

It must have been a cat. Coro has been with us for 8 years and has never taken defrosting meat. Leftovers are fair game if we’ve forgotten to feed her though. Smudge being new, and with Glassie being vegetarian, she thinks all meat is for her. So my money was on Smudge being the culprit.

I hunted around but could find no evidence of the meat or its plastic bag. This led The Ref to tell me I had had a Senior moment and either thought about getting it out but actually didn’t or put it back in the freezer for some reason. Charming!

Three days latter I was on my way to work across the Family room and almost stood on a plastic bag. It was chewed at one end, labelled mince and with one small morsel of mince left in the bag. It had not been there the night before when I came home or the days before that.

The Ref was just thrilled when I whipped open the shower door to show him the evidence (that I hadn’t had a senior moment), especially as he didn’t have his glasses on and couldn’t make out what I was waving in front of him!

The family room is Smudge territory so my money is still on her. And I’m impressed that she got all that mince out of a fairly small hole too! Needless to say meat is put in the fridge for defrosting now.

Leave a Reply

Categories

