Posted by: corozmum | February 17, 2011

Horrible Interview Questions

One of my hated interview questions is “What is your weakness?”. I read an article that recommended a work related weakness, one that doesn’t reflect too badly on you and that you can be or are able to work on improving.

My selected weakness is my typing skills. Earlier this week I was asked this question and answered “typing skills”. I was then asked how fast I typed. I said that an Employment Agency had assessed me at 31 words per minute, and as this was just below the average for their temps of 34, that I’d been practising to improve my speed and accuracy.

The interviewer informed me that 31 was really good and they didn’t consider my speed a weakness! Heaven knows what I would have answered if they asked me to state another weakness!!

I haven’t been applying for jobs that require excellent computer skills as I don’t feel mine are, but I’m beginning to wonder if I’ve been short selling myself. The employment agency says my Word skills are excellent (we recently upgraded from Word 2003 to Word 2007 so I’m not sure on that one any more!) and employers obviously think my typing is ok too. However, I can’t get jobs that only require ‘good’ or ‘knowledge’ of Word etc so maybe I shouldn’t try for the positions requiring excellence yet.

Leave a Reply

Categories

