Posted by: corozmum | February 14, 2011

A Special Dress Code

Last week, I had a job interview at a company owned by some Exclusive Brethren members. Before going to the interview I was sent a copy of their staff dress code so I wouldn’t unintentionally cause offense.

I knew I would have to wear a dress or a skirt. I hadn’t realised that they had to be below the knee and able to be arranged to preserve modesty when seated. I’m still unclear if its the knees that cause offense or the potential for flashing higher up. Its not something you query in an interview!

The dress code stated no singlets to be worn by men or women. I took this to mean no sleeveless tops as well. That excluded several items in my wardrobe.

The code also states no low cut or immodest tops. This isn’t uncommon in staff dress codes but caused me more angst than usual. Being a larger lady I have taken Trinny and Susannahs advise to wear v necks which breaks up the expanse of my chest and shows off my assets. The trouble with v necks on bigger ladies is that you almost always show cleavage and flash your bra when you sit!I decided not to risk a v neck.

That left me with a handful of blouses (I own two dresses, one with spaghetti straps and is above the knee, the other a v neck and above the knee). I’m not big on blouses. The buttons are never in the right place so they gape. More bra on show! The first blouse was too tight and the buttons were wrong so there was gaping. The second blouse had subtle stains on the front. The third blouse did up and didn’t gape. Yes! Then I lifted my arms to do my hair and exposed several inches of cuddly abs. Hmmm, that is probably immodest and I can’t risk that!

I approached the last blouse with trepidation. The last time I tried it, it was too tight to do up. I was delighted that it actually did up, sat nicely and didn’t gape. I raised my arms and no exposed midriff. Whew! Its metallic and slightly sparkly but I figured a bit of evening wear glam was better than being immodest.

I couldn’t read how the interview went (no sense of having nailed it) but the Employment Agency says it sounds hopeful so we shall see.

Leave a Reply

Categories

